OHP Spectro Star Party 2019

Every year, Association Aude and Shelyak Instruments organize the Spectro Star Party at the Observatoire de Haute Provence, in St Michel l’Observatoire, near Manosque in southern France.

This year, the event will take place from 2sd to 7th August 2019.

This event is an opportunity to observe in exceptional conditions on a closed and privileged site: you will be able to set up your equipment on the ground and leave it in place for the following nights.

The spectro party begin in (UT)

Day(s)

:

Hour(s)

:

Minute(s)

:

Second(s)

Number of registered participants

OHP

Observatoire de Haute Provence

OHP Spectro Star party 2018

04870 Saint-Michel-L’observatoire

(F) France

Location of the observatory in south of France

Beginners in spectroscopy are particularly welcome !

The first 28 places are reserved for beginners who have not yet been able to participate in this spectro party for registrations made before April 30th. People who have already participated in a spectro party can register but will be put on a waiting list in order of registration and their place will be definitively awarded after May the 1st.

So much so that this year, we have decided to offer, within the Star Party, a training course for those of you that interest. It is a matter of accompanying the beginners in spectoscopy by an experienced observer, in small groups (5-7 people, according to the inscriptions), as well during the observations as for the data reduction.

If you wish to take advantage of this training course, please indicate it on your registration form (specifying the type of instrument you are interested in). We invite you to come without an instrument : you will work with your animator. On the other hand, take your laptop (if you have one).

You can of course bring your own equipment and install it in the area reserved for the spectro party, it is recommended that you have a good knowledge and mastery of your setup (setting in station, pointing a target, autoguiding) and of course the various drivers and softwares are installed on your PC and check they work well.

Introductory sessions for beginners in Spectroscopy will be offered, as in previous years, with (if necessary) separate French and English sessions.

Conferences are offered in the afternoon, in French or English, on Astrophysics.  Steve Shore (Astrophysicist) will make us once again the honor of his presence with 2 conferences.The full program will be sent to you later.

The night is devoted to observing the sky, whether you are an amateur or a confirmed astronomer, with or without a telescope, you will have the opportunity to practice or to see how to practice the spectro.

Each year, the course brings together people from very different backgrounds (France, Switzerland, Belgium, United Kingdom, Germany, Italy, but also regularly from far away (USA, Australia, China …) Exchanges are usually in French or In English, all in a great conviviality.

Of course, we are in France and we do not forget meals: breakfast for residents, lunches, afternoon snack, dinner and night snacks for observers and night birds.

You may not have time to do everything, because there is also a swimming pool on the site, hiking trails in the scrubland around the site, singing cicadas, some opportunity to take a nap … It will give an excuse to return the following year.

Hurry up ! Registrations are quickly completed.

The proposed rates are as follows :

  • Full board in single room : 482,00 €

  • Full board in 2-bed room : 400,00 €

  • Full board price with sleeping off site, version offered to good hikers because the site does not accept the cars at night (to avoid any light pollution) : 261.00 €

Thank you for filling in the form and replying by email. We will need to receive your payment by bank transfer for complete validation.

We remind you that beginners who have not yet participated in a OHP spectro party will have priority for the first 28 registrations until April 30th and that the total number of participants is fixed at 50 (maximum capacity for meals at “maison Jean Perrin”) . People who have already participated in this spectro party will be until April 30, put on waiting list in the order of arrival of the inscriptions.

Time Lapse video : Ambience at spectro party (duration 4’37)

Spectro Star Party OHP 2019

Chaque année, l’Association Aude et Shelyak Instruments organisent la Spectro Star Party à l’observatoire de Haute Provence, à St Michel l’Observatoire, près de Manosque dans le sud de la France.

Cette année, l’événement aura lieu du 2 au 7 août.

Cet événement est l’occasion d’observer dans des conditions exceptionnelles sur un site fermé et privilégié : vous pourrez ainsi installer votre matériel sur le terrain et le laisser en place pour les nuits suivantes.

La spectro party débute dans (TU)

Jour(s)

:

Heure(s)

:

Minute(s)

:

Seconde(s)

  • Inscrits 110% 110%

Nombre de participants inscrits (complet)

OHP

Observatoire de Haute Provence

OHP Spectro Star party 2018

04870 Saint-Michel-L’observatoire

(F) France

Situation de l’observatoire de Haute Provence

Les débutants en spectroscopie sont particulièrement bienvenus !

Les 28 premières places sont réservés aux débutants n’ayant pas encore pu participer à cette spectro party pour les inscriptions effectuées avant le 30 avril. Les personnes ayant déjà participé à une spectro party peuvent s’inscrire mais seront mises sur liste d’attente par ordre d’inscription et leur place seront définitivement attribuées après le 1er mai.

De nouveau, cette année, nous proposons, au sein de la Star Party, un cursus de formation pour ceux d’entre vous que cela intéresse. Il s’agit d’accompagner les observateurs débutant en spectroscopie par un observateur expérimenté, en petits groupes (5-7 personnes, en fonction des inscriptions), aussi bien pendant les observations que pour la réduction des données. 

Si vous souhaitez profiter de ce cursus de formation, merci de l’indiquer sur votre bulletin d’inscription (en précisant le type d’instrument qui vous intéresse). Nous vous invitons alors à venir sans instrument : vous travaillerez avec celui de votre animateur. En revanche, prenez votre PC portable (si vous en avez un).

Vous pouvez bien sûr apporter votre propre matériel et l’installer dans la zone réservée à la spectro party, il est néanmoins recommandé que vous puissiez maitriser les pré-requis nécessaires à son fonctionnement (mise en station, pointage d’une cible, autoguidage) et bien sûr que les divers drivers et softs soient bien installés sur votre PC et de vérifier leur bon fonctionnement.

Des sessions d’initiation pour débutants en Spectroscopie seront proposées, comme les années précédentes, avec (si besoin) des sessions séparées francophones et anglophones.

Des conférences seront proposées dans l’après-midi, en français ou en anglais. Parmi les conférenciers, Steve Shore (Astrophysicien) nous fera de nouveau l’honneur de sa présence avec 2 conférences. Le programme complet vous sera adressé ultérieurement.

La nuit est consacrée à l’observation du ciel. Que vous soyez débutant ou astronome confirmé, avec ou sans télescope, vous aurez l’occasion de pratiquer ou de voir pratiquer la spectro.

Chaque année, le stage réunit des personnes d’horizons très différents (France, Suisse, Belgique, Royaume Uni, Allemagne, Italie, mais aussi régulièrement de beaucoup plus loin (USA, Australie, Chine…). Les échanges se font en français et en anglais – dans une ambiance de grande convivialité.

Vous n’aurez peut-être pas le temps de tout faire, car il y aussi une piscine sur le site, des parcours de randonnée dans la garrigue tout autour du site, le chant des cigales, quelques occasions de faire la sieste…Cela vous donnera une excuse pour revenir l’année suivante.

 

Ne tardez pas, les inscriptions sont rapidement complètes.

Les tarifs proposés sont les suivants :

  • Tarif pension complète en chambre individuelle : 482,00 €
  • Tarif pension complète en chambre à 2 lits : 400,00 €
  • Tarif pension complète avec couchage hors du site, version proposée aux bons marcheurs car le site n’accepte pas les autos la nuit (pour éviter toute pollution lumineuse) : 261.00 €

Merci de répondre en remplissant le formulaire par retour de mail. Pour que votre réservation soit effective nous devons recevoir votre paiement par chèque (pour les Français) ou par virement bancaire. Nous rappelons que les débutants n’ayant pas encore participé à une spectro party seront prioritaires pour les 28 premières inscriptions jusqu’au 30 avril et que le nombre total de participants est fixé à 50 (capacité maxi de la maison Jean Perrin pour les repas). Les personnes ayant déjà participé à cette spectro party seront jusqu’au 30 avril, mises sur liste d’attente dans l’ordre d’arrivée des inscriptions.

Time Lapse vidéo : ambiance spectro party (durée 4’37)