Spectro Party OHP 2018 : retrospective

The Spectro Star Party at the Observatoire de Haute Provence took place from July 13th to 18th 2018 and hosted more than 45 participants from very different levels. The weather allowed us to enjoy the 5 nights where thirty spectro setups were installed with some Alpy, LISA, LHIRES III and one eShel setup.

 

Welcoming participants

Photo copyright : Olivier Garde

Photo copyright : Olivier Garde

Photo copyright : Olivier Garde

Each participant received a bag containing a Shelyak USB key with various programs and utilities, as well as their badge, the Wifi access code of the observatory, the list of common targets to be made during the spectro party, the site map , the schedule and some stickers from ESO and Shelyak Instruments and a pin’s

A first meeting allowed to present the site, the schedule of the 6 days as well as the targets to be done in spectroscopy.

 

 

One day at the spectro party

Each day goes the same way, in the morning François Cochard offers a training workshop on the Demetra softwareThen at noon, lunch buffet at maison Jean Perrin. The afternoon is devoted to data processing but also to conferences proposed by Steve Shore on an initiation to astrophysics. Other presentations were made, one by Benjamin Mauclaire on the study of the pulsating star RR Lyr, a series of workshops on programming in Python dedicated to the treatment of spectra and a presentation of Martin Dub on the spectra lightning.

Then evening dinner at maison Jean Perrin before being all on the ground for the acquisition of spectra or in small groups around a setup dedicated to a spectrograph in particular, or with his own equipment and that until at sunrise for the most motivated ….

 

First stay at the OHP, first Spectro Star Party, … I stop on this last point to tell you about this wonderful stay. I took the training group Lhires III, I wanted to deepen this spectroscope, to discover new elements. I was able to meet the great people who actively contribute to the development of amateur spectroscopy in France and around the world. The week was therefore very productive and the training on spectroscopes and mount was very intense.

Kévin Bazan

Amateur astronomer, Club d'Astronomie de Lyon Ampère (CALA)

Photo copyright : Valérie Desnoux

A spectro workshop on the ALPY 600

It was possible for each participant to join a group on a setup dedicated to one of the spectrographs of the Shelyak range: Alpy 600, LISA, LHIRES III and eShel.

A particularly successful group was the ALPY 600 group, which was hosted by Thierry Lemoult on his own setup. He spent the 5 nights with the members of his group in the acquisition and spectra processing with the  Demetra software specially developed to process the spectra of an ALPY 600 (a single software to do everything from acquisition spectra to the final result of the perfectly calibrated spectrum)

The Alpy 600 group around Thierry

(Photo copyright: François Cochard)

Horizon tours of the various setups of the spectro party

(Vidéo from Olivier Thizy. duration 3’42)

Nova Sct 2018 spectrum taken by the group “Alpy 600″ (Thierry Lemoult)

4 pm coffee break between 2 conferences

Photo copyright : Valérie Desnoux

Games and relaxation at the OHP pool

Photo copyright : Olivier Garde

Lunch buffet at maison Jean Perrin

Photo copyright : François Cochard

Stephane and his eShel setup

Photo copyright : Valérie Desnoux

Kevin, Christian, Valerie and Pierre

Photo Copyright : François Cochard

Vincent and his Alpy 600 setup

Photo copyright : Olivier Garde

Cours d’astrophysique par Steve

Crédit Photo : Olivier Garde

Ken and the Steve’s students

Photo copyright : Olivier Garde

Pictorial work of Steve

Photo copyright : Vincent Lecocq

Nicolas installs his Newton with his Alpy 600

Photo copyright : François Cochard

Christian and Patrick with their LHIRES III setup

Photo copyright : Valérie Desnoux

Pascal, Marian and Stephane

Photo copyright : Olivier Garde

Work with Steve on the Nova Sct 2018

Photo copyright : Olivier Thizy

Spectro class with Steve

Photo copyright : Valérie Desnoux

Thierry and Benoist wait for the beginning of the night

Photo copyright : Valérie Desnoux

Steve Shore’s speech at the end of a meal

(vidéo from Olivier Garde duration 10’06)

Group picture (some people are missing …)

Photo copyright : François Cochard

See you next year for new spectroscopic adventures.

Spectro Party OHP 2018 : retrospective

La Spectro Star Party à l’observatoire de Haute Provence s’est déroulée du 13 au 18 juillet 2018 et a accueilli plus de 45 participants de niveaux très différents. La météo nous a permis de profiter des 5 nuits ou une trentaine de setups spectro ont été installés équipés de spectro Alpy, LISA, LHIRES III et un setup eShel.

 

Accueil des participants

Crédit Photo : Olivier Garde

Crédit Photo : Olivier Garde

Crédit Photo : Olivier Garde

Chaque participant a reçu un sac contenant une clef USB Shelyak avec divers programmes et utilitaires, ainsi que leur badge, le code d’accès au Wifi de l’observatoire, la liste des cibles communes à faire durant la spectro party, le plan du site, le planning et quelques autocollants de l’ESO et de Shelyak Instruments ainsi qu’un pin’s.

Une première réunion a permis de présenter le site, le planning des 6 journées ainsi que les cibles à faire en spectroscopie.

Déroulement d’une journée

Chaque journée se déroule de la même manière, le matin François Cochard propose un atelier de formation sur le logiciel Demetra. Puis à midi, déjeuner sous forme de buffet à la maison Jean Perrin. L’après-midi est consacré au traitement des données mais également à des conférences proposées par Steve Shore sur une initiation à l’astrophysique des étoiles. D’autres présentations ont été faites, l’une par Benjamin Mauclaire sur l’étude de l’étoile pulsante RR Lyr, une série d’ateliers sur la programmation en Python dédiés au traitement des spectres et une présentation de Martin Dub sur les spectres d’éclairs.

Puis dîner du soir toujours à la maison Jean  Perrin avant de se retrouver tous sur le terrain pour l’acquisition de spectres soit par petits groupes autour d’un setup dédié à un spectrographe en particulier, soit avec son propre matériel et cela jusqu’au au lever du jour pour les plus motivés….

Premier séjour à l’OHP, première Spectro Star Party, … Je m’arrête sur ce dernier point pour vous parler de ce magnifique séjour. J’ai pris le groupe formation Lhires III, j’avais envie d’approfondir ce spectroscope, de découvrir de nouveaux éléments. J’ai pu rencontrer les grandes personnes qui contribuent activement à développer la spectroscopie amateur en France et dans le monde. La semaine a donc été très productive et l’apprentissage sur les spectroscopes et la monture a été très intense.

Kévin Bazan

Astronome amateur, Club d'Astronomie de Lyon Ampère (CALA)

Crédit photo : Valérie Desnoux

Un atelier spectro sur l’ALPY 600

Il était possible pour chaque participant de rejoindre un groupe sur un setup dédié à l’un des spectrographes de la gamme Shelyak : Alpy 600, LISA, LHIRES III et eShel.

Un groupe qui a particulièrement remporté un gros succès était le groupe ALPY 600 animé par Thierry Lemoult sur son propre setup. Il a procédé durant les 5 nuits avec les membres de son groupe à l’acquisition et au traitement de spectres avec le logiciel Demetra tout spécialement développé pour traiter les spectres d’un ALPY 600 (un seul logiciel pour tout faire, de l’acquisition des spectres au résultat final du spectre parfaitement calibré)

Le groupe Alpy 600 autour de Thierry

(Crédit photo : François Cochard)

Tours d’horizons des divers setup de la spectro party

(Vidéo d’Olivier Thizy. durée 3’42)

Exemples de spectres réalisés par le groupe « Alpy 600 » (Thierry Lemoult)

Pause café de 16h entre 2 conférences

Crédit Photo : Valérie Desnoux

Détente à la piscine de l’OHP

Crédit Photo : Olivier Garde

Repas de midi sous forme de buffet

Crédit Photo : François Cochard

Stéphane avec son set up eShel

Crédit Photo : Valérie Desnoux

Kévin, Christian, Valérie et Pierre

Crédit Photo : François Cochard

Vincent et son setup Alpy

Crédit Photo : Olivier Garde

Cours d’astrophysique par Steve

Crédit Photo : Olivier Garde

Ken et les étudiants de Steve

Crédit Photo : Olivier Garde

Oeuvre picturale de Steve

Crédit Photo : Vincent Lecocq

Nicolas installe son Newton avec son Alpy 600

Crédit Photo : François Cochard

Christian et Patrick avec leur setup LHIRES III

Crédit Photo : Valérie Desnoux

Pascal, Marian et Stéphane

Crédit Photo : Olivier Garde

Travail avec Steve sur la Nova Sct 2018

Crédit Photo : Olivier Thizy

Cours spectro avec Steve

Crédit Photo : Valérie Desnoux

Thierry et Benoist attende le début de la nuit

Crédit Photo : Valérie Desnoux

Discours de Steve Shore à la fin d’un repas

(vidéo d’Olivier Garde durée 10’06)

Photo de groupe (il manque quelques personnes…)

Crédit Photo : François Cochard

A l’année prochaine pour de nouvelles aventures spectroscopiques.