PF0063 – TimeBox

576,00  incl. VAT - 480,00  excl. VAT

The TimeBox is a device designed to date a precise timing of astronomic phenomena.

Category:

The TimeBox is a device designed to date a PC/Server time and digital video recordings with the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC). The TimeBox was primarily designed for precise timing of astronomic phenomena, but it can be used for other applications that require precise timing with an absolute time reference (UTC).

Timing of astronomic occultation and other astronomic phenomena need to be done in an absolute time scale in order to pull and compare recordings done by different observers around the world. The timescale chosen is the Coordinated Universal Time (UTC) that is the primary time standard regulating clocks and time (McCarthy et al. 2009). Stellar occultation is a proven method used to determine the size, form and position of asteroids, and the topology and obits of satellites as well (Trahan et al. 2014).

The TimeBox is designed in order to allow precise timing of astronomical phenomena using digital video devices. The TimeBox recovers the UTC time from the GPS satellites and insert the UTC time in three different ways: LED firing (< 8 microseconds UTC), Computer clock synchronization (± 2 milliseconds UTC) and Trigger firing (< 1 milliseconds UTC).

For more information about the Timebox, you can read this article

Datation accuracy :
• With LED firing < 8 microseconds UTC
• For computer synchronisation ± 2 milliseconds UTC
• With trigger firing <1 milliseconds UTC

USB 2.0 plug

GPS Antenna plug

Trigger on BNC plug + 12V power plug: delivers a 9V pulse (requires a 12V power supply and a BNC cable not supplied)

Size : L 135mm x l 80 mm x H 40 mm

Weight : 220 g

Comes with a 2m USB 2.0 cable, a GPS antenna with its cable and its connector

PF0063 – TimeBox

576,00  TTC - 480,00  HT

La TimeBox est un dispositif conçu pour le chronométrage précis des phénomènes astronomiques.

Catégorie :

La TimeBox est un dispositif conçu pour synchroniser l’heure d’un PC ou d’un serveur avec le Temps Universel Coordonné (UTC). La TimeBox a été principalement conçue pour le chronométrage précis des phénomènes astronomiques, mais elle peut être utilisée pour d’autres applications qui nécessitent une datation précise avec une référence de temps absolue (UTC).

La datation des occultations astronomiques et d’autres phénomènes astronomiques doivent être effectués par rapport à une échelle de temps absolue afin d’extraire et de comparer les enregistrements effectués par différents observateurs dans le monde entier. L’échelle de temps choisie est le temps universel coordonné (UTC) qui est la principale norme de temps régulant les horloges et le temps (Mccarthy et al. 2009). L’occultation stellaire est une méthode éprouvée utilisée pour déterminer la taille, la forme et la position des astéroïdes, ainsi que la topologie et l’orbite des satellites (Trahan et al. 2014).

La TimeBox est conçue pour permettre une datation précise des phénomènes astronomiques en utilisant des caméras numériques. La TimeBox récupère l’heure UTC des satellites GPS et insère l’heure UTC selon trois modes différents : le déclenchement d’une LED (< 8 microseconds UTC) , la synchronisation de l’horloge de l’ordinateur (± 2 milliseconds UTC) et le déclenchement de la caméra (requiert une caméra disposant d’un trigger externe  – précision < 1 milliseconde UTC).

Pour en savoir plus sur les occultations avec la TimeBox, vous pouvez lire cet article

Précision de datation, selon le mode :
• Déclenchement d’une LED < 8 micro secondes UTC
• Synchronisation de l’horloge de l’ordinateur ± 2 milli secondes UTC
• Déclenchement externe de la caméra (si disponible sur votre caméra) <1 milli seconde UTC

Prise USB 2.0

Prise antenne GPS

Prise Trigger sur fiche BNC + prise alimentation 12V : délivre une impulsion de 9V (nécessite une alimentation 12V et un cable BNC non fourni). Cette tension peut être modifiée à 3V ou 6V)

Dimensions du boîtier : L 135mm x l 80 mm x H 40 mm
Poids : 220 g

Livré avec un câble USB 2.0 de 2m, une antenne GPS muni d’un câble et de son connecteur

  • Le manuel d’utilisation de la TimeBox
  • Un article sur les occultations avec une TImeBox