The Whoppshel, a high resolution echelle spectroscope

By Olivier Garde

The Whoppshel was born from the demand of our customers to have a higher resolution echelle spectroscope than the eShel for telescopes of one meter class. The whoppshel, with a resolution R = 30000, is particularly adapted to radial velocity measurements.

The two FSQ-106 refractor

The three prisms composing the cross-disperser

In the foreground on the left the main grating

Whoppshel is based on a few principles:

  • An optical White Pupil architecture, which allows to naturally compensate for certain optical aberrations (passing twice symmetrically in the optical components), and on the other hand to maintain a reasonable target size.

  • The use of Takahashi lens (FSQ106 at F/ 3.6) for the collimator and a high-end photo lens (Canon 135mm F/2) for the objective lens. All the high constraints on the optics are thus embedded in high quality elements manufactured in series.

  • The instrument is assembled on an extremely rigid optical bench.

    The cross-disperser of the echelle spectrum is obtained using three prisms specially made for this spectrograph.

Optical path of Whoppshel

 Like eShel, Whoppshel is a fiber optic spectrograph. It uses the same injection fiber module, the same optical fibers and the same calibration box as the eShel range.

Schematic Whoppshel diagram

The light collected by the telescope is injected via the 50μm optical fiber in the middle of the two Takahashi lens, a small mirror deviates the beam towards the first telescope. The beam is then spread out by the echelle grating. It is then returned to the two symmetrically mounted lens, which eliminates most of their residual aberrations. The output converges to the three prisms (cross-disperser) which separate the different orders. The 135mm photo lens open at f/2 finally retrieves the sprectrum signal in both axes to focus the spectrum on the CCD sensor of the camera.

Specifications

The Whoppshel has a resolving power of approximately R = 30000 (slightly variable according to the orders) and covers a wavelength range from 3900 Å to 7600Å.

This spectrograph has a length of 2.10m and measures 0.6m in its greatest width. It is installed on 2 optical benches, 0.9x0.6m and 1.2m x 0.3m assembled very rigidly together. The total mass of the spectrograph is 81 kg.

A Bosch profile structure (standard elements) allows the entire enclosure of the instrument to be protected from stray lights and dust.

For the spectral calibration performed with Whoppshel, the same calibration unit as the one dedicated to eShel is used. This calibration unit includes a Halogen lamp to generate flats and a Thorium / Argon spectral lamp with a very large number of lines distributed over all orders of the spectrograph. The calibration unit can be controlled remotely via an RS 232 interface.

Here’s a spectrum of the Th/Ar lamp use for wavelength calibration :

To inject the light flux coming from the telescope, the Whoppshel uses the same injection and guiding module as the eShel spectrograph according to the f / d ratio of the telescope:

• For telescopes open at f / d 6: PF0008
• For telescopes open at f / d 9: PF0018

It is therefore necessary that the telescope approaches the f / d ratios above for maximum efficiency.

Of course, we need to add to the setup,  a 50 μm optical fiber for object, a 200 μm optical fiber for calibration, and a guiding camera.

A 105μm optical fiber can also be used to take lower magnitude target, in which case the resolution of the Whoppshel will be about R = 15000.

Delivery and assembly of the spectroscope

The Whoppshel is delivered in spare parts because of its dimensions (Shelyak can of course install and adjust the Whoppshel for you if necessary). An assembly instructions allows the entire spectroscope to be assembled step by step.

Since the instrument is installed on an optical bench, the installation is done by following the beam of light element by element – editing is an extremely educational exercise, particularly useful for students.

It takes about 2 days to assemble and tune the Whoopshel.

The CCD camera on its support and its optics

FWHM Measurement of the spot with Audelà software

The CCD camera is mounted on its holder with its 135mm optics, it will be used during all stages of the assembling to tune the focus and alignment of each optical element. This operation is greatly facilitated by the fact that all light streams are at the same height and centered on the camera. Thanks to the AudeLA software, we can measure the FWHM of the spot after each optical element.

The ATIK 460ex CCD camera is particularly recommended for this spectrograph because of the width of its sensor, its quantum efficiency and the read noise about 5e-. Other CCD cameras can of course be used, just check that the sensor can cover all the orders of the spectrograph and also that orders can overlap from one order to another. At a minimum, the ATIK 460ex meets these criteria. If you want to use another camera, you have to take into account the distance between the optical axis of the CCD and the optical bench which is 102mm.

First try : The Sun light

Without waiting for the night, we can make a first test of the spectrograph by using the day light directly on the optical fiber placed outside. Here is the first raw spectrum obtained:

In this raw image, we have identified some lines of the solar light, such as Balmer lines (Hα, Hβ, Hγ, Hδ), the Sodium doublet (D1, D2) and the magnesium triplet.

The orders identified are from 42 to 87, the latter containing the lines H and K of the calcium.

LHIRES III R=18000                                   Woppshel R=30000

Comparison of the solar spectrum obtained with a LHIRES III (on the left) and with the whoppshel (on the right)

H and K lines from the Sun at 3968,47 Å and 3933,68 Å

Solar spectrum poster
(click on the image to download the full poster)

First stellar observations

First light on Be star Zet Tau (mag. V=3,03) with a Richtey-Chretien telescope of 400mm diameter : 3 exposures of 300s with an ATIK 460ex CCD use in bin 1x1 mode.

Raw spectrum of Zet Tau (300s)

1D spectrum of Zet Tau 3x300s (Order #52 = H alpha)

Above, another test with the star Eta Tau, mag. V = 2.87 with the same telescope of 400mm diameter and the comparison with the spectrograph eShel R = 11000 (curve in blue). We can be seen that Whoppshel solves the telluric lines present around the H Alpha line better than the Eshel spectrograph.

Finally, an observation of P Cyg, mag. V = 4.82, still with the same telescope of 400mm of diameter.
22 exposures of 300 seconds.

Balmer lines (Hα to Hδ)

Details of atmospherics lines on order #49 (6900Å to 7000Å)

Le Whoppshel, spectroscope echelle à haute résolution

Par Olivier Garde

Le Whoppshel est né de la demande de nos clients de disposer d’un spectroscope echelle de plus grande résolution que le eShel pour les télescopes de la classe des 1m. Le woppshel, avec une résolution R=30000, est particulièrement destiné aux mesures de vitesses radiales. Il est presque 3x plus résolvant que le spectrographe eShel.

Les deux optiques FSQ 106

Les trois prismes composant le cross-disperser

Au premier plan à gauche le réseau principal 

Le Whoppshel repose sur quelques principes forts :

  • Une architecture optique en pupille blanche, qui permet d’une part de compenser naturellement certains défauts optiques (en passant deux fois symétriquement dans les composants optiques), et d’autre part de conserver une taille d’objectif raisonnable.
  • L’utilisation de lunettes Takahashi (FSQ106 F/3,6) pour le collimateur et d’un objectif photo de haut de gamme (Canon 135mm F/2) pour l’objectif. Toutes les contraintes fortes sur l’optique sont ainsi contenues dans des éléments de haute qualité fabriqués en série.
  • L’instrument est assemblé sur un banc optique extrêmement rigide.

La dispersion croisée du spectre echelle est obtenue à l’aide de trois prismes tout spécialement réalisés sur mesure pour ce spectrographe.

Chemin optique du Woppshel

Tout comme l’eShel, le Woppshel est un spectroscope à fibre optique. Il utilise la même bonnette d’injection, les mêmes fibres optiques et le même boîtier de calibration que la gamme eShel.

Schéma de principe du Woppshel

La lumière collectée par le télescope est injectée via la fibre optique de 50µm au milieu des deux lunettes Takahashi , un petit miroir renvoie le faisceau dans la première lunette. Le signal est ensuite dispersé par le réseau échelle, puis renvoyé dans les deux lunettes montées symétriquement, ce qui permet d’éliminer les divers aberrations résiduelles de ces deux optiques et faire converger le faisceau.

Le faisceau dispersé passe ensuite dans les trois prismes (cross-disperser) qui séparent les différents ordres. L’objectif photo de 135mm ouvert à f/2 récupère enfin le signal dispersé dans les deux axes pour focaliser le spectre sur le capteur CCD de la caméra.

Caractéristiques

Le Whoppshel dispose d’un pouvoir de résolution d’environ R = 30000 (légèrement variable selon les ordres) et couvre une plage en longueur d’onde allant de 3900 Å à 7600Å.

Ce spectrographe à une longueur de 2,10m et mesure 0,6m dans sa plus grande largeur. Il est installé sur 2 bancs optiques, de 0,9x0,6m et 1,2m x 0,3m assemblés très rigidement ensemble.  La masse totale du spectrographe est de 81 kg.

Une structure en profilé Bosch (éléments standards) permet le capotage entier de l’instrument pour le mettre à l’abri des lumières parasite et des poussières.

Pour l’étalonnage des spectres réalisé avec le Whoppshel, on utilise le même boitier que celui dédié à l’eShel. Ce boitier comporte une lampe Halogène pour générer des flats ainsi qu’une lampe spectrale Thorium/Argon comportant un très grand nombre de raies répartis sur l’ensemble des ordres du spectrographe. Le boitier peut être commandé à distance via une interface RS 232.

Voici un exemple d’un spectre brut réalisé avec le Whoppshel :

Pour injecter le flux de lumière en provenance du télescope, le Whoppshel utilise les mêmes bonnettes que le spectro eShel selon le rapport f/d du télescope  :

  • Pour des télescopes ouvert à f/d 6 : PF0008
  • Pour des télescopes ouvert à f/d 9 : PF0018

Il est donc nécessaire que le télescope se rapproche des rapports f/d ci-dessus.

l faut bien sur rajouter à l’ensemble, une fibre optique objet de 50 µm, une fibre d’étalonnage de 200 µm, et une caméra d’autoguidage.  
Une fibre de 105µm peut également être utilisée afin de réaliser des spectres de cibles plus faible, dans ce cas la résolution du Whoppshel sera réduit de moitié à R=15000 environ.

Livraison et assemblage du spectrographe

Le Whoppshel est livré en pièces détachées à cause de ses dimensions qui ne permettent pas de le transporter monté. (Shelyak peut bien sur assurer le montage et réglage du Whoppshel si nécessaire). Une notice de montage permet d’assembler étape par étape tout le spectrographe.

Comme l’instrument est installé sur un banc optique, l’installation se fait en suivant le faisceau de lumière élément par élément – le montage est un exercice extrêmement pédagogique, particulièrement utile aux étudiants.

Il faut compter environ 2 jours de montage pour tout assembler et régler.

La caméra CCD sur son support et son optique

Mesure de la FWHM du spot avec le logiciel Audelà

La caméra CCD est montée sur son support avec son optique de 135mm, elle servira durant toutes les étapes du montage pour régler la focalisation et l’alignement de chaque élément optique. Cette opération est grandement facilitée du fait que tout les flux de lumières sont à la même hauteur et centré sur la caméra. Grâce au logiciel AudeLA, on peut mesurer la FWHM du spot après chaque élément optique.

La caméra CCD  ATIK 460ex est particulièrement recommandée pour ce spectrographe du fait de la largeur de son capteur, de son rendement quantique et du bruit de lecture de 5e-. D’autres caméras CCD peuvent bien sur être utilisées à condition que le capteur puisse couvrir l’ensemble des ordres du spectrographe et également que les ordres puissent se recouper d’un ordre à l’autre. A minima, l’ATIK 460ex répond à ces critères. Si l’on souhaite utiliser une autre caméra, il faut tenir compte de la distance entre l’axe optique de la CCD et le banc optique qui est de 102mm.

Premiers essais : La lumière Solaire

Sans attendre la nuit, on peut faire un premier essai du spectrographe en utilisant la lumière du jour en disposant la fibre optique à l’extérieur. Voici le premier spectre brut obtenu :

Sur cette image, on a identifié quelques raies caractéristiques de la lumière Solaire, comme les raies de Balmer (Hα, Hβ, Hγ, Hδ), le doublet du Sodium (D1, D2) et le triplet du Magnésium.

Les ordres identifiés vont de l’ordre 42 à 87, ce dernier contenant les raies H et K du Calcium.

LHIRES III R=18000                                   Whoppshel R=30000

Comparaison du spectre Solaire obtenu avec un LHIRES III (à gauche) et par le whoppshel (à droite)

Les raies H et K du Soleil respectivement à 3968,47 Å et 3933,68 Å

Poster du spectre solaire anoté
(cliquer sur l’image pour télécharger le poster)

Premières observations sur les étoiles

Premier essais sur l’étoile Be Zet Tau de magnitude V= 3,03 avec un télescope Richtey-Chretien de 400mm de diamètre : 3 poses de 300s avec la caméra CCD ATIK 460 ex en binning 1x1.

Spectre brut Zet Tau 300s

Spectre 1D Zet Tau 3x300s (Ordre 52 = H alpha)

Ci dessus, un autre essai avec l’étoile Eta Tau, magnitude V=2,87 toujours avec le même télescope de 400mm de diamètre et la comparaison avec le spectrographe eShel R=11000 (courbe en bleu). On constate que le Whoppshel résoud bien mieux les raies telluriques présentes autour de la raie H Alpha que le spectrographe eshel.

Enfin, une observation de P Cyg, magnitude V=4,82, toujours avec le même télescope de 400mm de diamètre. 22 poses de 300 secondes.

Les raies de Balmer (Hα à Hδ)

Détails des raies atmosphèriques sur l’ordre 49 (6900 Å à 7000Å)